Links and Networks


World Council of Churches

Thursdays in Black (a program of the WCC)

Christian Conference of Asia (CCA)


National Council of Churches

Act for Peace is the international aid agency of the National Council of Churches in Australia (NCCA). Act for Peace organizes the annual Christmas Bowl Appeal


New South Wales Ecumenical Council (NSWEC)
Street: Level 7, 379 Kent St, Sydney NSW 2000
Postal: Locked Bag Q199, Queen Victoria Building NSW 1230
Ph: (02) 9299 2215
Email: nswec [a]

Queensland Churches Together (QCT)
Rev David Baker
Postal: PO Box 2096, Toowong QLD 4066
Ph: (07) 3369 6792
Email: admin [a]

Tasmanian Council of Churches (TCC)
Postal: 23 Clarence Street, Bellerive, TAS 7018
Ph: 0499 016 969
Email: tcctas [a]

Churches Together SA (CTSA)
Rev Anne Hewitt
Street: 5/7 Gray St, Woodville Gardens SA 5000
Office: 0477 019 163
Email: admin [a]

Council of Churches WA (CCWA)
Simone Micke, gensec [a]
Mobile: 0423 355 801
Office: 4A Centro Ave, Subiaco WA 6008
Ph: (08) 6186 6039; info [a]
Ecumenical [a]

Northern Territory Council of Churches (NTCC)
Emily Evans
(contact details tbc)

Interfaith relations

The VCC relates to a number of faith based community organisations, including:

FCCV (Faith Communities Council of Victoria)
Established in 2010, the Faith Communities Council of Victoria (FCCV) is Victoria’s umbrella multifaith body. FCCV seeks to promote positive relations between people of different faiths and greater public knowledge and mutual understanding of the teachings, customs and practices of Victoria’s diverse faith traditions.

JCCV (Jewish Community Council of Victoria Inc)
The JCCV is the peak representative body for Victorian Jewry, representing about 55 Jewish community organisations.

JCMA (Jewish Christian Muslim Association of Australia)
The JCMA is a not for profit organisation which aims to reduce racism, intolerance, bigotry and violence and the associated emotional harm through creating and providing forums for interfaith dialogue and shared experience.

CCJV (Council of Christians and Jews Victoria)
CCJV aims to educate Christians and Jews to appreciate each other’s distinctive beliefs, practices and commonalities

Ecumenical and Interfaith Commission (Catholic Archdiocese of Melbourne)

Interfaith Networks and Councils

Reconciliation/Aboriginal and Islander matters

ANTaR Victoria

First Peoples Assembly of Victoria

Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission: ‘Anti-Racism Race’ resource

Refugee networks and resources see separate page here.

Other advocacy and community networks
Catholic Social Services Victoria

Climate Matters
Australian Conservation Foundation

ARRCC (Australian Religious Response to Climate Change)

Faith Ecology Network (and on Facebook)

Australian Student Christian Movement (Victoria)
(What is ASCM?)

Palestine Israel
PIEN – Palestine Israel Ecumenical Network

Palestinian Christians – The Forcible Dispossession and Displacement Continues (PDF) 2023

Melbourne City Churches in Action (MCCIA)
The MCCIA is an ecumenical organisation of churches in the Inner City of Melbourne, Australia, and the Melbourne City Mission that works together to build relationships and understanding by:
* Conducting events to foster the spiritual life of the City
* Producing collaborative information about the churches of the inner city
* Cooperating in advocating policies of social reform
* Meeting together to share information and fellowship
* Worshipping together in our different churches
The MCCIA coordinates activities during the year including The Way of the Cross to bring Melbourne’s Christian community together, to build relationships and understanding between the churches and with the city, and to raise awareness of the city churches’ activities within the wider community. The churches are:
Collins St Baptist Church
Cross Culture Church of Christ
German Lutheran Trinity Church
Holy Trinity Anglican Church
Melbourne City Mission
Melbourne Welsh Church
Religious Society of Friends (Quakers)
St Augustine’s Catholic Church
St Francis’ Catholic Church
St James’ Old Cathedral (Anglican)
St Johns Southgate
St Michael’s Uniting Church
St Patrick’s Catholic Cathedral
St Paul’s Cathedral (Anglican)
St Peter’s Eastern Hill (Anglican)
St Verena’s and St Bishoy’s Coptic Orthodox Church
The Scots’ Church (Presbyterian)
Wesley Uniting Church
MCCIA Contact: secretary [a],
PO Box 12399, 58 Franklin Street, Melbourne, VIC 8006
Office Bearers:
Rev Rachel Kronberger, Wesley Uniting Church
Rev. Dr Sandy Yule, Wesley Uniting Church
Ms Stefanie Pearce, Collins Street Baptist Church, Secretary
Ms Claudia Barduhn, Society of Friends-West Melbourne (Quakers), Treasurer
Committee members:
Ms Irmtrud Doblin, German Lutheran Trinity Kirche;
Fr Jo Dirks, St Francis Catholic Church/Community of Blessed Sacramen

Victorian InterChurch Councils

  • Altona Council of Churches
  • Altona/Laverton Council of Churches
  • Ashburton-Glen Iris InterChurch Council
  • Balwyn InterChurch Council*
  • Balwyn North InterChurch Council
  • Box Hill Chaplaincy*
  • Burwood & Districts InterChurch Council (Feb 2022)
  • Canterbury Council of Churches
  • Cavendish Combined Churches
  • Chelsea & District InterChurch Council*
  • Coburg InterChurch Council
  • Collingwood InterChurch Council
  • Croydon InterChurch Council
  • Dandenong Ranges InterChurch Council
  • Deepdene InterChurch Council
  • Dromana/Red Hill/Rosebud InterChurch Council
  • Ecumenical Committee for N & W Melbourne
  • Glen Waverley InterChurch Council*
  • Hawthorn InterChurch Council
  • Heidelberg-East Ivanhoe InterChurch Council
  • Highett-Moorabbin InterChurch Council
  • Ivanhoe Churches Together*
    (now Banyule Churches Together BCT)
  • Katamatite Combined Churches
  • Kew InterChurch Council
  • Maffra Combined Churches
  • Manningham InterChurch Council
  • Maroondah Council of Churches
  • Maroondah Fellowship of Churches
  • Maryborough Dist InterChurch Fellowship
  • Maryborough InterChurch Council
  • Melton InterChurch Council
    (Melton Christian Ministers Association)
  • Mildura Ministers Fellowship (MMF) – see Sunraysia Ministers Fellowship
  • Minyip InterChurch Council
  • Mount Eliza InterChurch Council
  • Mt Martha Clergy Network
  • Mt Waverley/Chadstone InterChurch Council* (MWCICC)
  • Murtoa InterChurch Council
  • North Balwyn InterChurch Council
  • Northcote/Thornbury InterChurch Council
  • Numurkah InterChurch Council
  • Ouyen InterChurch Council
  • Phillip Island InterChurch Council
  • Portland Ministers Association
  • Reservoir Unity Group
  • Rosedale InterChurch Council
  • Rupanyup InterChurch Council
  • Sandringham InterChurch Council
  • Shepparton InterChurch Council
  • Sorrento/Tootgarook InterChurch Council
  • Southport Parks InterChurch Council
  • St Arnaud Ed Prayer Group
  • St John’s Rectory
  • St Kilda Christian Workers
  • Stawell InterChurch Council*
  • Strathmore InterChurch Council
  • Sunbury Lay Ecumenical Committee
  • Sunraysia Ministers Fellowship
  • Toorak Ecumenical Movement
  • Wangaratta InterChurch Council*
    (Warrandyte and Park Orchards ICC)
  • Whitehorse-Eastern Region InterChurch Council
  • Williamstown Fellowship of Churches
  • Winchelsea InterChurch Council
  • Wonthaggi & Inverloch InterChurch Council*
  • Woomelang InterChurch Council